The Landlord Protection Agency  
Main Menu, Landlord Protection Agency homepage Membership With The Landlord Protection Agency Free Landlord Services Member Services  

Termination - Landlord Forum thread 357671








Free Landlord Newsletter





Free
Pre-screening
Prospect Card





FREE BONUS Forms Disk for
2 -5 year LPA Members




Excuses!

Termination by Carolyn (CA) on June 5, 2018 @21:18

                              
I will be terminating a month to month rental agreement after seven months of occupation. If the tenant has occupied the premises for less than one year I only need to give a 30 day notice. I will be giving this tenant a 45 day notice. I will speak with the tenant about the termination, email a letter and also send a certified letter.
When does the 45 days start? Does the three day rule for serving the notice apply to this?

Thank you
[ Reply ] [ Return to forum ]

Re: Termination by anon (cal) on June 5, 2018 @21:48 [ Reply ]
I suggest only a 30 day notice to terminate in CA. You do NOT have to start it at the beginning of the month in CA.
EMail is worth NADA in CA. Send a letter and also send the same letter in a signature request format letter.
Hopefully you have told them the problems over the 7 months.
Re: Termination by NTT on June 5, 2018 @21:55 [ Reply ]
https://www.thelpa.com/lpa/landlord-tenant-law/california-landlord-tenant-law.html
Re: Termination by Garry (Iowa) on June 6, 2018 @07:40 [ Reply ]
When states talk about 30 and 60 day notices, those are the MINIMUM amounts of time the tenant must have, between the notification date, and the move-out date. You should ALWAYS put in your letter, an actual date the T must be out by. So, as an example, you could send a letter, certified, and by regular mail, today, June 6, that the T needs to be out on July 31. If the T gets either the cert or regular mailed letter this Friday, June 8, that would be considered a 53 day notice, to be out by July 31. (22 days left in June, plus 31 days in July. )

If your state has a "3 day rule" for serving notices, that could be like we have in Iowa, where we MUST send a cert letter out, and wait 4 days for "mailing time". Then, if the T NEVER picks up that cert letter, by law, they are considered "served", on the 5th day, and time frame starts at that point. You are doing things right, by giving the T extra "notice" time----you will look good in front of a judge that way.

Check-Out
Log in

Look-up
Associations
Attorneys
Businesses
Rentals Available
Rentals Wanted
Realty Brokers
Landlord Articles
Tips & Advice
Tenant Histories

Other Areas
Q&A Forum
Free Forms
Essential Forms
Landlord Tenant Law
Join Now
Credit Reports
About Us
Site Help



Contact The LPA

© 2000-2018 The Landlord Protection Agency, Inc.

If you enjoy The LPA, Please
like us on Facebook The LPA on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter The LPA on Twitter
+1 us on Google