Lease Termination Notice
Sometimes you need to tell people to GET OUT ...
The Termination of Tenancy Notice is used to give proper legal notice to your tenants that you wish to end the landlord / tenant relationship.
Because the termination notice is a downloadable form into your word processing program, you can put your own letterhead on top, fill in the notice period, (most leases require 30 or 60 days*) tenants names, address, social security #s, etc.
* In the event you do not have a notice to vacate period agreed in your lease, the state notice period will prevail. In most states, the minimum notice is 30 days, but in Washington State for example, it's 20 days.
- The Termination of Tenancy Notice form also provides for a monetary daily penalty (or "daily rent") if the tenants fail to vacate by the deadline stated in the notice form.
- In the event you'd like to explain any reasons for giving the notice to terminate, the form has a central area to list any explanations or comments you wish to convey to the tenants.
For month to month tenancies, you are not legally required to give the tenant a reason for terminating the tenancy if you have given the proper amount of notice. However, the state of New Hampshire and New Jersey and rent controlled areas require that the landlord have a valid reason for lease termination.
- Because the Termination of Tenancy Notice is a legal notice you may need in court in an eviction proceeding, it should be sent by certified mail and served personally to the tenants so you have proof of service.
Remember that the notice period officially begins at the start of the next rent period. For example, if the monthly rent is due on the 1st of the month, the Termination of Tenancy Notice should be served or delivered to the tenant before the 1st.
Also see LPA eviction forms, "Notice to Pay Rent or Quit" and "Urgent Late Notice - Eviction Status Warning" when the tenant is in default on the rent.
You can find out more information on your state's laws and notice periods on our Landlord Tenant Law page.
View the State Specific Lease Inserts to determine the proper amount of days to give notice to terminate in your state.