The Must-Have Lease Agreement form...
for Landlords in WASHINGTON
The LPA Lease Agreement form is designed to fully interact with and support all of our Essential Landlord Forms for rental property management.
The State Specific LPA Rental Lease Agreement Protects Landlords
The LPA Lease and LPA Rental Agreements were designed to afford landlords the maximum amount of landlord protection in the many various possible landlord - tenant situations that you are exposed to as a residential landlord or property manager.
All our forms are instantly downloadable to your computer and editable in Microsoft Word format. Be sure to use the correct state specific lease clause information provided below.
Click for a more detailed description of
The LPA Lease Agreement
The LPA Rental Agreement
|STATE SPECIFIC Lease Clause Index
Your state may have specific statutes applicable to your lease agreement. Use the information provided below to prepare your Lease Rental Agreement to conform to state landlord tenant laws. The notice periods listed are the state's minimum requirements.
State of WASHINGTON
NOTICE PERIOD TO TERMINATE TENANCY: (LPA Lease Clause # 28)
1 rental period written notice
On a month to month tenancy in WA, a tenant may give 20 days written notice to vacate.
NOTICE PERIOD TO CURE RENT DEFAULT ON LEASE:
3 days (LPA Lease Clause # 25)
NOTICE PERIOD TO COMPLY OR VACATE on MATERIAL BREACH ON LEASE (Not for non-payment)
LATE CHARGES: As agreed in Lease Rental Agreement.
- (LPA Lease Clause # 3)
SECURITY DEPOSIT Maximum: 2 months rent.
- (LPA Lease Clause # 21)
DEPOSIT RETURN: 14 days. With a completed check list on hand, process and mail out any remaining deposit money with an explicit security settlement statement detailing what the deducted deposit money was spent on...within 14 days of
vacating or termination of rental agreement. After the the 14-day deadline landlord is required to refund the deposit in full regardless of the damages (which can be doubled if litigated in court). Copies of receipts (for contracted repairs) to moving out tenants are not required but can help to convince protesting tenants that you have a solid basis for billing. There is some forgiving language on the 14-day deadline...RCW 59.18.230 provides a deadline extension when:
"...the landlord shows that circumstances beyond the landlord's control
prevented the landlord from providing the security settlement statement within the fourteen days..."
SCREENING FEE: No more than $30.00 per applicant
For more Washington State Landlord Tenant Law, please see Washington Residential Landlord Tenant Law for easy reference.
WASHINGTON Landlord Tenant Law Links
Washington Landlord Tenant Law
Washington State Residential Landlord Tenant Act
Washington State Evictions
Washington State Security Deposit Returns
More on Deposit Returns
Washington State Bar Association